Alexa Dembek

Chief Technology & Sustainability Officer

Chief Technology & Sustainability Officer, DuPont
Alexa Dembek

Dr. Alexa Dembek is the Chief Technology & Sustainability Officer for DuPont.

Alexa is a born problem-solver, innovator and education advocate. Through her leadership, she actively champions the company’s purpose – to empower the world with the essential innovations to thrive – while building enduring partnerships with customers and strategic partners.


The business success Alexa has achieved is emblematic of her passion for enabling innovation to flourish, a consistent theme spanning three decades at DuPont. Among her many accomplishments, she transformed the company’s centralized R&D model to a more responsive, market-oriented innovation engine embedded within each business unit.

Today, Alexa leads business, innovation and sustainability strategy alignment to make the most impactful portfolio choices for DuPont. She is passionate about elevating the role sustainability plays in guiding investment and growth decisions. Through her leadership, Alexa established DuPont’s 2030 Sustainability Goals ensuring sustainability is embedded in the company’s enterprise-wide strategy for long-term growth and value creation. 

Alexa joined DuPont as a research chemist and a technical manager, with increasing levels of responsibility in innovation, supply chain, operations, sales and marketing. She held business leadership positions in Advanced Fibers Systems, Building Innovations and Performance Polymers. In addition, she served as Global Business Director for the corporate new business development venture in Energy Storage and led the company’s Central Research and Development function before being named to her current role.

Both in her work for DuPont and her personal endeavors, Alexa is a passionate champion of talent development and mentorship for the next generation of innovators. Through her involvement in education initiatives, she creates opportunity through diverse, cross-generational collaboration. Since June 2021, she serves on the Board of Directors for CoorsTek. In addition, she serves on the dean’s advisory board for Penn State’s Eberly College of Science, is a member of the Board of Directors for the Delaware Innovation Space, the Board of Trustees for Hagley Museum and Library. She also received the Penn State Eberly College of Science Outstanding Science Alumni Award in 2015 and the Penn State Outstanding Alumni Fellow Award in 2020.

She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Northern Illinois University and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Chemistry from the Pennsylvania State University.